June 6, 2010 05:30:35 |
Current Conditions In Lubbock, TX: CLOUDS AND SUN | Temp: 93

email@texastech.com header
Email login:


Barrett Barnes Named Big 12 Freshman of the Year
  • print
  • email
  • font +
  • font -
  • rss

Barrett Barnes

Barrett Barnes
Baseball Home

Click Here!
Errors, Walks Cost Tech In 7-3 Setback To Missouri

Bettis, Barnes Pace Tech To Upset Of Top-Ranked Texas

Red Raiders Falter In Big 12 Championships Opener

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend


May 25, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The future of the Texas Tech baseball program is only getting brighter and today the league coaches took notice, naming first baseman Barrett Barnes the 2010 Big 12 Conference Freshman of the Year.

Barnes, a native of Sugarland, Texas, was one eight Red Raiders to earn All-Big 12 accolades as a reward for a fifth place finish in the regular-season. Barnes, who was also named to the second-team as an infielder, becomes the first Red Raider to take home the freshman of the year honor since Roger Kieschnick did so back in 2006. Additionally, Barnes is just the fifth Red Raider to earn a Big 12 player of the year honor joining Joe Dillon (player of the year in 1997), Keith Ginter (newcomer of the year in 1997), Miles Morgan (freshman pitcher of the year in 2006) and Kieschnick (freshman of the year in 2006).

He ended the regular-season with a .338 batting average while posting a .352 cliip in Big 12 play. His 12 home runs on the season ranked tied for seventh in the Big 12 while his 68 runs scored led the league.

Joining Barnes on the second team was sophomore designated hitter Scott LeJeune and junior right-hander Chad Bettis. LeJeune leads the league in doubles and is just two away from setting a Texas Tech single-season record while Bettis ranks third in the conference with 10 saves.

Earning honorable mention honors were seniors Michael Reed (outfield) and Joey Kenworthy (infield) along with junior Jeremy Mayo (infield). Freshman second baseman Jamodrick McGruder also earned honorable mention honors from the league and was a candidate for the freshman of the year award.



No. 5 seed Texas Tech opens up play in the 2010 Big 12 Conference Championships on Wednesday morning against No. 4 seed Texas A&M. The Aggies won the regular-season series (two games to one) back in March at Olsen Field. First pitch is set for 9 a.m. and the Texas Tech Sports Network will hit the airwaves beginning at 8:30 a.m.


Co-Players of the Year: Nick Martini, Kansas State, OF, So.; Aaron Senne, Missouri, INF, Sr.
Pitcher of the Year: Cole Green, Texas, RHP, Jr.
Freshman of the Year: Barrett Barnes, Texas Tech, INF
Newcomer of the Year: John Stilson, Texas A&M, RHP, So.
Coach of the Year: Augie Garrido, Texas

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Robby Price, Kansas INF Sr. Lawrence, Kan./Free State
Carter Jurica, Kansas State INF Jr. Katy, Texas/Katy
Adam Muenster, Kansas State INF Sr. Omaha, Neb./Millard North
Aaron Senne, Missouri INF Sr. Rochester, Minn./Mayo
Garrett Buechele, Oklahoma INF So. Arlington, Texas/Lamar
Cameron Rupp, Texas C Jr. Plano, Texas/Prestonwood Christian Academy
Brian Heere, Kansas OF Jr. Lawrence, Kan./Lawrence
Nick Martini, Kansas State OF So. Crystal Lake, Ill./Prairie Ridge
Adam Bailey, Nebraska OF Sr. Scottsdale, Ariz./South Mountain CC
Russell Moldenhauer, Texas DH Sr. Boerne, Texas/Boerne
Brooks Pinckard, Baylor UTL So. Buda, Texas/Hays
Brett Nicholas, Missouri UTL Jr. Phoenix, Ariz./Scottsdale CC
Cole Green, Texas SP Jr. Coppell, Texas/ Coppell
Brandon Workman, Texas SP Jr. Bowie, Texas/Bowie
Barret Loux, Texas A&M SP Jr. Houston, Texas/Stratford
Chance Ruffin, Texas RP Jr. Austin, Texas/Lake Travis
John Stilson, Texas A&M RP So. Texarkana, Texas/Texarkana College

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Davis Duren, Oklahoma State INF Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Union
Brandon Loy, Texas INF So. Rowlett, Texas/Rowlett
Tant Shepherd, Texas INF Jr. Flowermound, Texas/Flowermound
Brodie Greene, Texas A&M INF Sr. Bullard, Texas/Bullard
Barrett Barnes, Texas Tech INF Fr. Sugarland, Texas/Fort Bend Austin
Kevin Gonzalez, Texas A&M C Jr. Houston, Texas/Mayde Creek
Logan Vick, Baylor OF Fr. Kerrville, Texas/Tivy
DJ Belfonte, Nebraska OF Sr. Kansas City, Mo./Rockhurst
Kevin Keyes, Texas OF Jr. Austin, Texas/Connally
Scott LeJeune, Texas Tech DH So. Austin, Texas/McNeil
Jack Mayfield, Oklahoma UTL Fr. Del Rio, Texas/Del Rio
Matt Juengel, Texas A&M UTL So. Friendswood, Texas/Panola College
Logan Verrett, Baylor SP So. Corpus Christi, Texas/Calallen
Zach Neal, Oklahoma SP Jr. Flowermound, Texas/Howard College
Taylor Jungmann, Texas SP So. Temple, Texas/Georgetown
Evan Marshall, Kansas State RP So. Sunnyvale, Calif./Homestead
Chad Bettis, Texas Tech RP Jr. Lubbock, Texas/Monterey

Baylor: Raynor Campbell, INF, Sr.; Gregg Glime, C, Sr.; Joey Hainsfurther, INF, So.; Willie Kempf, RP, Sr.; Shawn Tolleson, SP, Jr.
Kansas: Cameron Selik, SP, Sr.; Tony Thompson, INF, Jr.; T.J. Walz, SP, Jr.; Jimmy Waters, OF, Jr.
Kansas State: Daniel Dellasega, C, Sr.; Kyle Hunter, SP, So.
Missouri: Michael Liberto, INF, Sr.
Nebraska: Cody Asche, INF, So.; Kale Kiser, DH, So.
Oklahoma: Ross Hubbard, DH, Sr.; Cameron Seitzer, INF, So.; Max White, OF, Fr.
Oklahoma State: Kevin David, C, Jr.
Texas: Connor Rowe, OF, Jr.; Cohl Walla, OF, Fr.
Texas A&M: Joe Patterson, DH, Sr.; Michael Wacha, RP, Fr.
Texas Tech: Bobby Doran, SP, Jr.; Joey Kenworthy, INF, Sr.; Jamodrick McGruder, INF, Fr.; Jeremy Mayo, C, Jr.; Michael Reed, OF, Sr.